EKU is committed to bringing quality education to Eastern Kentucky. The university is enriched by the communities it serves and it's partnership with The University Center of the Mountains and Hazard Community Technical College. This partnership increases the opportunity for students to obtain selected baccalaureate and master degrees while remaining in the area to better serve the needs of their families and their communities.

EKU students can continue their education beyond the Associate degree by enrolling in the classes required to complete a Bachelor’s or Masters degree. Current baccalaureate degree offerings include Nursing, Criminal Justice, General Studies, Paralegal Studies and Industrial Technology. Graduate programs in Nursing, Corrections, Education, and Career and Technical Education are also available. Classes are taught in classrooms at Hazard Community and Technical College by EKU faculty.



An agreement was signed October 20 by University Center of the Mountains’ partners Eastern Kentucky University and Hazard Community and Technical College. The Bachelor’s of Science in Aviation: Aerospace Technology Concentration goes into effect immediately, and students are encouraged to enroll for classes beginning in January. Through a three-step process, (three pronged partnership) this program allows students to take and combine courses from the regional airport, the community college and EKU in order to complete a bachelor’s degree without leaving the region.

“Aviation is one of our stellar programs,” noted EKU President Dr. Michael T. Benson. Individuals in the region may have already met some technical class requirements through the Perry County’s Wendell Ford Regional Airport flight school, earned as FAA certificates noted Dr. Deronda Mobelini, UCM director, or they have the option to do so through the Perry County airport or any other local airports’ approved flight school program.  Then students would complete their remaining freshman/sophomore general education course work through HCTC, and transfer the FAA certificates through EKU’s credit-by-examination process, back to HCTC to complete the AA degree.   The newly signed articulation MOA allows students to fold the aviation oriented two-year degree into EKU’s Bachelor’s of Science in Aviation: Aerospace Technology Concentration.  This program was developed in response to an upcoming national shortage of certified pilots, many of whom are retiring from the field due to industry age requirements.

As the only program of its kind in Kentucky, EKU Aviation provides the aerospace industry with the safest, best trained, and most adaptable pilots and managers. EKU’s Bachelor of Science degree has concentrations in Professional Flight, Aerospace Management, or Aerospace Technology (AT). Besides a general aviation core, aviation students are required to take supporting courses in mathematics, statistics, physics, and business management. Graduates of the program are professionally prepared for all facets of the aerospace and aviation industry to include piloting, flight instruction, aviation management, and aerospace technology.

Jeannie Trumbo, EKU’s Hazard Regional Coordinator, will provide EKU admission application and advising assistance. Dr. Deronda Mobelini will also be available to provide HCTC assistance. Both are housed in The University Center of the Mountains located in the Jolly Classroom Center. Anyone interested in classes can call HCTC (606) 487-3182 or EKU (606) 487-3209.

Dr. Benson said EKU has adopted the hash tag “Wheels up” for the program on Twitter.